Gallery

Jogging to Morning Market

The crowd @Pasar Pagi Hankam

The crowd @Pasar Pagi Hankam

That morning, very early, when I usually fall asleep again after having shubuh pray time or preparing breakfast. Finally I had the opportunity to … jogging. Geez if you know me, so hard for me to jogging. Not a matter of time, but my willpower. Sometimes I choose cycling until my knee got sored and start the day as soon as possible. Jogging while enjoying sceneof the right and left. I think I rarely do these days. Yet this is the week. Yes! This time I won’t do regular jogging. There is somewhere I want to go to. It name is Morning Market. Just a few kilometers from home. And it’s only held every Sunday morning.

From left to right: Uncle Faisal, Mbak Nah, Fatih (My youngest brother) and the naked one  is Uncle Basir

From left to right: Uncle Faisal, Mbak Nah, Fatih (My youngest brother) and the naked one is Uncle Basir

My neighbor is the umpteenth family after my family, and my classmates. You will not find any neighbors as nice as them. They were ready so early in the edge of the village street to start jogging. Only me who still having breakfast lonely in Living Room (My family were still sleepy).

And let us start the jogging.

Let's ride a wagon!

Let’s ride a wagon!

Early in the morning, after a breakfast of bread and bring a bit of money as well as wear sweatpants and sweatshirts I ran to the front of the house and found Ms. Nur, a neighbor who have lived for a dozen years on the other side of my house, warming up her body.

Together with her husband, who has been my subscription ojeg who has been taking me to school since I was in kindergarten, Uncle Basir. His image does not look like a regular ojeg, yes! He wears glasses, and shoes Original Niki. Always wear a hat and green pants army soldiers. T-shirts-trendy covers his belly stomach.

And there is her younger sister Bang Basir, Aunty “Nah”, I called her Mbak Nah. Well with her husband called handsome by the whole village residents. Haha for them, face like him is the handsome one.. : D

***

SAM_0897

HanKam Morning Market . Actually Hankam is an abbreviation from Pertahanan Kemanan (Defense and Security). HanKam is one of many housing for—what we called them? Uhm.. Army maybe. That’s what they call it. Places where you can buy sandals 10,000 rupiahs get three. And bid up the price of clothing as cheaply as possible. From clothes to culinary.

Sum-sum poridge

Sum-sum poridge

Pukis Cake.. nyummy! Our daily snack every evening

Pukis Cake.. nyummy! Our daily snack every evening

The cotton candies!

The cotton candies!

This is the people’s market. There is no regularity. The more chaotic the more fun. When I arrived there my cellphone’s clock still showed 06:30. I and my neighbors appeared at the edge of the highway that had appeared preoccupations. Gosh where I’ve been all this time? Every Sunday morning I lost by the merchants. I always sleep revenge for my busy schedule during the week.

The bananas seller

The bananas seller

The calligraphs

The calligraphs

Penjual Serabi

Penjual Serabi

Many people who stopped jogging or cycling there. As well as public transportation adds to the complexity of the queue. I immediately set my camera. Deliberately did not bring a DSLR. Hhehe .. for some reason I lack the confidence to bring it to this place. So I decided to just bring a pocket camera and I had to settle for it.

***

The trendy hijab!

The trendy hijab!

Most of the clothes sold here are. Trendy Hijab, shirt, pants, dress shirt and dress until I’d bet about 80% of the merchant here are the seller of clothing. While 20% of the remaining food and accessories..

The "department store". Hahah :p

The “department store”. Hahah :p

Because I was too busy taking pictures, so i didn’t realize that the my neighbors who were still walking around me have lost between hundreds people. I miss them. Lost? No. Haha, of course. I know this place well, by heart very well and I’m not a kid anymore. What I’m worried about is that they will be busy looking for me. But I decided to go to arrive at an intersection of the street. And I chose to right where the crowd is reduced.

 

The balloons seller! Really make the children interested and crying just to make their mom buy it

The balloons seller! Really make the children interested and crying just to make their mom buy it

And I found the men just setting up a children’s playground equipment like balls bathing, mini train, small Ferris wheel and the like that we often see in the night market. The funny thing is the play equipment was setting up in the trees lush garden that many mosquitoes flying there, above wet ground with by morning dew. Of course the child of businessmen wouldn’t choose this place for having fun.

The playground between the lush

The playground between the lus

 

dolls!

dolls!

The child who chose here must be like my neighbors, Ojeg Driver’s Child, pedicab driver’s child and women washer’s child. But I’m happy with them. They taught me about humility and happiness level higher than the houses in the elite residence-who do not even know the neighbors the other side. Suddenly I felt starving, I think it must be I haven’t enough breakfast. Then I decided to stopped into a shop of yellow rice.

Oh yeah, one more typical of fringe areas like where I live betawi is … The breakfast menu! In addition to being a maid in the elite housing, they also are selling yellow rice, Uduk Rice, glutinous, Gemblong, gado-gado. But the most population housewives or even grandma selling Uduk Rice, you’ll be satisfied by paid 3000 rupiah only. You’ll get The big portion of Uduk rice that has include with it: Jengkol, Kerupuk, Semur Tahu dan Tempe. Isn’t very cheap!?

But I’ll tell you about yellow rice.

These are the composition of making Yellow Rice:

Nasi Kuning

Nasi Kuning

1.5 cups of rice
2 cm turmeric (Which is made the rice turned yellow)
2 pieces of hazelnut
2 cloves of garlic
4 shallots
4 sticks of lemongrass
Clove 2 pieces
2 bay leaves
1100 ml thick coconut milk
sufficient water

After had a yellow rice. I decided to go back by my-self. Yap, accidently I met my-other neighbor. Let me introduce to you all. Her name is Ina Tresna Dewi. She is a mother of two boys.

Her first son has been studying at Kindergarten for a year at my house. (Hihihi one more you need to know, my mother is an owner and headmaster of kindergarten school that opened at our own house). And her last son, under 3 years old. Her husband is a regular employee. And she is a good merchant. Like other merchant here in Hankam. She was selling many clothes. But mostly, women or girly clothes. Like dress, gamis, skirt, jeans jacket, long shirt, and many other. She usually buy the clothes at Tanah Abang, and she buy it by the dozens. And you can get it under a hundred thousand rupiahs for a tunic clothes. And for long dress you can get it by only 125.000 rupiah.

Aunty Ina with her sister, Teteh

Aunty Ina with her sister, Teteh

“And she is my older sister. She Is a reporter for Bekasi Community.” I called her teteh. She is the nicest sister I ever met. She helps Aunty Ina to selling all of the clothes. And they usually divided the profit 50 %::50%. “How many usually you get the profit in a day?” I interviewed her.

 

The jeans jacket!

The jeans jacket!

“If the market is crowded, we usually get almost always reach one million rupiahs. But if the market is lack of visitors, we only get between seven hundreds and eight hundred thousand rupiahs,”

Okay, thank you for sharing Aunty, I must go back. And so, I can’t contact any neighbor that accompanied me. Because of no one of them brought cell phone. Ridiculous, huh? They actually have cellphone, but they left it at home jut for having quality time with family during jogging. No, not ridiculous maybe, it’s good you see? To not being busy on their own.

***

I went home by angkot, a common transportation for us, Angkot is a name of big car that colored orange and have number at the back of them, the number is showed the route of the car. And for me, as a civilian at Bekasi, I always use 02. To go to nearest mall or department store, or just visiting friend’s house. And now I went home by 02, and the driver dropped me at the gate of Duta Indah Housing. Then I continued by pedicab. Almost all the drivers know me well as the owner of the Kindergarten School.
Haha! Amazing Neighborhood.🙂

The Mini Train!

The Mini Train!

Kapal-kapalan mainan|The Toys!

Kapal-kapalan mainan|The Toys!

 

Barbie at the sidewalk of the street

Barbie at the sidewalk of the street

Leave a Reply

