Archipelago’s Flora-Fauna EXPO

IMG_0849

My Mom with the Cockatoo

Oke, after we took a shelter in At-Tin Mosque for long enough, right-away when the rain cooled down, we continued our vacation. This is it My Friends! Welcome to Indonesia Miniature Park!!

Indonesia Mini Park actually, is a concept of Indonesia Country which is narrowed. The main object of this park is the traditional houses-made that come from all of tribes in Indonesia.

FOR YOUR NOTES FROM WIKIPEDIA:

The Gate

The Gate

Taman Mini Indonesia Indah (TMII) or “Beautiful Indonesia Miniature Park” (literally translated) is a culture-based recreational area located in East Jakarta, Indonesia. It has an area of about 250 acres (1.0 km2). The park is a synopsis of Indonesian culture, with virtually all aspects of daily life in Indonesia’s 26 (in 1975) provinces encapsulated in separate pavilions with the collections ofIndonesian architecture, clothing, dances and traditions are all depicted impeccably. Apart from that, there is a lake with a miniature of the archipelago in the middle of it, cable cars, museums, Keong Emas Imax cinema, a theater called the Theatre of My Homeland (Theater Tanah Airku) and other recreational facilities which make TMII one of the most popular tourist destinations in the city.[1]
Since 2007 Taman Mini Indonesia Indah launched new logo with branding slogan Pesona Indonesia (“Indonesian Charm”).

HISTORY:
The idea of presenting Indonesia in a small scale was conceived by former Indonesian first lady, Siti Hartinah, better known as TienSuharto. It came about at a convention on 8 Cendana Street at March 13, 1970. Through this recreational site, she hoped to cultivate national pride in more Indonesian people.[1] A project called “Indonesian Miniature Project” was started by Harapan Kita Foundation in 1972. The concept of this culture-based recreational area was inspired by Indonesia’s unparalled natural riches and local folk diversity.

***

The employee of Indonesia Mini Park. Dressed in Batavia Traditional Costumes.

The employee of Indonesia Mini Park. Dressed in Batavia Traditional Costumes.

At the entrance door or the check-in. We welcomed by employees of Indonesia Mini Park who dressed in traditional costume. After we paid the admission tickets, our car drove on the wet road. Yeah.. during we drove along around Indonesia Mini Park, we sightseeing, saw the left-right looking for something interesting. There were so many Banner with the text on it: 39th Anniversary of Beautiful Indonesia Miniature Park. But it seemed that the parade which I waiting for, has done. Look! The digital clock pointed to number one, 1 pm. It must be the parade has done. Because with my assumed, it started on 9 am.

While we enjoying the sound from the big rain which was fell down again, I watched at the car’s window disappointed. I felt that the rope of my DSLR Canon camera that was being necklace around my neck suddenly felt heavy. Meanwhile, my brother looked excited however he just saw the lake that exposed the raindrops splashed.

IMG_0839

The bench on the side around the lake

Thanks God, for the rain. Rain apparently cheered up us. It cooled down the traffic jam’s atmosphere along the way around the lake. This lake is very colored my childhood. When I

The traffic jam

The traffic jam

was sitting on elementary school, I often visited here. And my favorite place beside the Flower Garden and Bird Park, of course this lake. I remembering when I first drove the duck boat. I, my sister and my cousin must pedaling the boat to made it move on. This lake actually describes Indonesia’s Archipelagos which are very large. There are little islands (made by human) like little hills in the middle of the lake. And all of the big island completed on the center lake. Such as Sumatera Island, Java Island, Kalimantan, Sulawesi, Bali and Irian Jaya. Finally in case I got bored I took many photos trough the window. Of course the photos are bad looking because of the window limit my camera’s vision.

the sculpture at Papua New Guinea pavilion

the sculpture at Papua New Guinea pavilion

Until co-incident, we saw a banner written on it: EXPO FLORA-FAUNA NUSANTARA. In English: Flora-Fauna’s Archipelagos EXPO.

“Mom! Dad! Look at that!” shouted my sister, Azka. She sat on the right side of the car’s seat. And her position was the nearest with the place of EXPO. Mom looked enthusiastic ask Uncle Jeni to parking the car. But, honestly, the parking lot in Indonesia Mini Park are very crowded, especially in a big day like that day. Example: the place for pedestrian used for parking cars. And astonishing, the parking man didn’t forbid it.

So, because we didn’t want to join making disordering. We searched the parking place that not used pedestrian area/sidewalk. Luckily it didn’t difficult to found.

My Dad above the banner

My Dad under the banner

In a hurry we got out from the car because of the rain. Our foot splashed on puddle of water. And we didn’t have any umbrella. In half run we went to the Tent’s EXPO.
Wow! I was so unnerved by the animals here. The first animal we saw was yellow-crested cockatoo.

IMG_0851

My mom and my little bro, talked to the cockatoo :))

And rainbow popinjay. “He is in badmood

The rainbow Popinjay!

The rainbow Popinjay!

ma’am. So pity you can’t take a photo with him,” said the owner of those birds pointed at the rainbow popinjay. Too bad! That rainbow popinjay was sooo beautiful and colorful so that we wanted to take a photo with it.

Than, we continued to next booth.

***

IMG_0872

Luwak Booth

Luwak, or maybe in English called: civet. Luwak are very

Luwak Coffee Powder. I got it from my Aunty. She usually brings it for her friends in Japan as souvenir =D

Luwak Coffee Powder. I got it from a friend of My Mom. She usually brings it for her husband’s friend-collague in Japan as souvenir from Indonesia =D SO PROUD!

hated by many of chicken farmer. I have a neighbor, he is a chicken farmer, and once, a Luwak or civet stall a chicken and ate it alive. He was very sad of his chicken. The unique of this animal is the feces. It’s feces can be consumed by human. Interesting, huh? The feces of Luwak can be use to make coffee. The feces that has shape like seeds can be roasted and processed to be coffee powder. It’s price is very expensive and only coffee lover will earn much money to enjoy it in exclusive café. This the most expensive coffee in the world!

This is the results interview between my mom and the luwak’s lover plus owner.

IMG_0874

My mom interviewing a Luwak’s Lover

The owner feeds luwak with vegetables and meats—it must balances between the vegetables and meats. And the meats can’t be raw meat. I dunno why, I guess he tries to make his luwak not wild anymore. Luwak forbid to feed by any fried foods. If so, it can be diarrhea and must get treatment in Animal Hospital.

IMG_0864

And that’s what you called the biggest snake. Not look so big, huh? Python snake is the biggest genus of snake. That snake feed by alive chicken! Because if not so, it can be erase it’s instinct. Just imagine, you observes a killing slowly by a python—wrapped a chicken which make a pathetic sound, moving and twitched trying to get off.

This is the interview: “How old is it?” asked My Mom

IMG_0860

“4 years old, madam. I taking care of it since it was a baby,”

“Wow, 4 years old?! Same age with my last son!” chirped My Dad. “It’s great! I see it looks bigger much than my son, huh, Fatih?” Asked My Dad to my little brother. Too bad! The owner of the snake didn’t respond his humor. Hahahah -_-

***

My sister tried to touch the tail

My sister tried to touch the tail

Not so far from the snake. There was a big fat lizard in Indonesia it called BIAWAK. We right-away asked to take a photo together. This lizard was too fat to run fast. My dad looked scary with it, otherwise, My Mom looked sorry and amused by the movement of the lizard. First I saw, I thought It was Komodo. I think you must know it. The largest species of lizard that was found ONLY IN INDONESIAN ISLAND like Flores, Rinca, Gili Montang and Padar. it is the largest living species of lizard, growing to a maximum length of 3 metres (10 ft) in rare cases and weighing up to approximately 70 kilograms (150 lb).

But, what we saw that day was regular lizard. Of course because Komodo is one of the protected animal by state. So no one can take care of it.

Yeah, even though this lizard has too spoiled to be wild or predatory.

***

IMG_0895

Beside those three spectacular animals, there

bracelets, frame, and key-chain.

bracelets, frame, and key-chain.

were many more of other animals. Like rabbits, marmots, gecko. But what most caught my attention were insects. Greatly the insects has been preserved in many accessories like bracelets and keychains. Still in one booth with the insects, there were many animal skeleton which were placed in glass boxes. Like frog, birds, rats and.. in the frame there were bats skeleton!

frog's skeleton

Tikus Got::RATS SKELETON

***

The Bird's Skeletons

The Bird’s Skeletons

The Bat's Skeleton

The Bat’s Skeleton

The Insect Booth

The Insect Booth

In birds booth, same thing with the lizard happened to a pigeon post which was came from French. Yap, this pigeon was too fat to fly. Really bad you know, actually even though the animal lovers take cars with good point—conserves—what happened to the animals not always good.

The Bird Booth

The Bird Booth

Big Fat Pigeon

Big Fat Pigeon

 

Okay, maybe that’s all for now. Before we continue our tour around Indonesia Miniature Park. There will be TOURISM VILLAGE that has beautiful view, calm and peaceful atmosphere. Make us feel like thrown through out Wherever Door to Sukabumi Area in Bogor. So, just wait for my next post! ^__^

5 thoughts on “Archipelago’s Flora-Fauna EXPO

    • yasminshabrina says:

      Your welcome, my friend! :3 yes, at first i thought like that too! Perhaps, if not because by accident we saw that EXPO Banner. I won’t be interested to find out and learn more about endemic animals in my country😀

      • Yes, my friend…that is the reason why life is a never-ending learning journey. With each encounter, we tend to learn something new and at certain time of our lives, we will tend to pick up things that we never thought we would be interested in…LOL…that’s life!!

        Happy Monday and Cheers!!😀

    • yasminshabrina says:

      besides.. the main food for luwak still coffee beans. if not so, where does the luwak coffee come from?😄

      • Perhaps for those luwak bred by human, they won’t be getting any chicken in their diets…hehe…

        Thank you for sharing, my friend!! Cheers~😀

Leave a Reply

